New Council President elected

In December 2016, ECMWF’s Council elected Professor Jorge Miguel Alberto de Miranda (Portugal) as its President and Professor Juhani Damski (Finland) as its Vice-President, both for a first term of office of one year. Professor Miranda is the President of Portugal’s national meteorological service, the Portuguese Institute for Sea and Atmosphere. He is well known at ECMWF, having served as the Council Vice-President from December 2013 to December 2016. Professor Damski is the Director General of the Finnish Meteorological Institute.

Jorge Miguel Alberto de Miranda
Jorge Miguel Alberto de Miranda. ECMWF’s Council unanimously elected Professor Miranda as its new President in December 2016.