Niels Bormann

Principal Scientist
Research Department, Earth System Assimilation Section, Microwave Radiance Observations Group


Niels Bormann is a Principal Scientist in the ECMWF Research Department, leading a team responsible for the exploitation of satellite observations from microwave radiances and Atmospheric Motion Vectors (AMVs) as well as the general processing of observations for assimilation.



Professional interests:

Use of satellite data to specify initial conditions for operational global Numerical Weather forecasts, in particular:

  • Evaluation of new satellite data in NWP for assimilation and calibration/validation; detection and diagnosis of anomalies.
  • Extended and improved use of satellite observations in NWP, with a focus on microwave sounders and AMVs.
  • Estimating and accounting for random and systematic uncertainties involved in the assimilation of satellite data.
  • Feedback to space agencies and advice for planning of future satellite missions.




Career background:

2016-present: Team Leader Microwave Radiances and AMVs, ECMWF
2011-2015: Team Leader Microwave Sounders and AMVs, ECMWF
2011-present: Principal Scientist working on the assimilation of MW and IR sounders, ECMWF
2006-2011: Senior Scientist working on the assimilation of MW and IR radiances, ECMWF
2003-2006: Research Consultant working on the assimilation of IR limb radiances, ECMWF
2000-2002: EUMETSAT Fellow working on the assimilation of AMVs, ECMWF
1997-2000: PhD (Geophysics), Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand, in collaboration with the New Zealand National Institute for Water and Atmospheric Research (NIWA)


External recognitions

CGMS International TOVS Working Group Co-chair (2012-2018)
EUMETSAT Science Working Group delegate (2006-today)
EUMETSAT NWP SAF Steering Group (2016-today)
ESA/EUMETSAT EPS-SG MWS Science Advisory Group (2015-today)
EUMETSAT MTG-IRS Science Team (2010-2013)
ESA PREMIER Mission Assessment Group (2007-2008)

Dr Vilho Väisälä Award for the Development and Implementation of the Instruments and Methods of Observation of WMO (2012)
Jim Ansell Geophysics Award of the Geophysics Society of New Zealand (1999)