Annual Seminar 2019

ECMWF | Reading | 2-6 September 2019

Subseasonal and seasonal forecasting: recent progress and future prospects

More than two decades ago, seasonal forecasting started as a pilot project at ECMWF. Now it is a corner-stone of climate services. Originally a spin-off from seasonal forecasting, the sub-seasonal range covered the then so-called predictability desert; now it is a key building block of the seamless forecasting strategy, with clear prospects for useful skill gains at week 3 and 4.

Although the predictable processes and predictability drivers differ between the subseasonal and seasonal scales, prediction at these time ranges is a combination of initial and boundary problems. Sub-seasonal and seasonal predictions act as a bridge between weather and climate.

This seminar will review recent advances in our understanding of the predictability at these time scales. It will present current forecasting capabilities, and summarise recent but consolidated findings from numerical experimentation and exploitation of public data bases. It will also provide a perspective of incipient developments related with data exploration, forecast products and predictability drivers, which will shape the future of seamless forecasting systems.

Seminar aims

The seminar is part of ECMWF's educational programme and is aimed at young scientists but also more established scientists that want to engage more with subseasonal and seasonal forecasting.

Attendance information

To follow.

Organising committee

Magdalena A. Balmaseda, Gianpaolo Balsamo, Anca Brookshaw, Laura Ferranti, Tim Stockdale, Frederic Vitart, Antje Weisheimer

Registration (to follow)

Programme (to follow)

Local information